Pacific Advertising Group scam on yahoo.com

Rex Reviews | Rex | January 24, 2010 at 11:49

So in my long and arduous on going job search trying to find a job in the Las Vegas Valley, I was sifting through hotjobs.yahoo.com thinking it would be a more reputable method of searching for jobs rather than craigslist.

I came across a promising lead for an Entry Level Marketing / Advertising / Customer Service, with the company Pacific Advertising group.  It sounded good; an entry level position with no experience required in a fast paced environment for a growing company with the opportunity for promotions and to make lots of money.

I almost started the application process then my instincts kicked in and I decided to research the company first.  I googled Pacific Advertising Group and as I was typing it in, the Google suggestions came up with the company name first, then the name with scam after it.  I immediately thought “uh oh – a lot of people are searching for this company with scam in the title.”

The first hit was for The Landers Group Entry Level Jobs | One Day, One Job url: http://www.onedayonejob.com/jobs/the-landers-group/.
The website gave a brief description of the company and what they do and how it is essentially just a scam with shady recruiting tactics much like the perfume company I applied to before.  It was a different company than Pacific Group, but looking under the forum posts below the article I found this:

“RL October 29, 2008 at 11:43 am
Go ahead and add Pacific Advertising Group in that scam list. I just did a two day in row interview and went through the whole scenario of promises of a management position. I also went to ” a day of observation” and stood in front of a grocery store for 10 hours trying to talk to every customer that walks and walks out.
I was skeptical from the very beginning when they had rap music and a movie playing on the front desk. When the receptionist would answer the phone, she would answer with “Marketing, may I help you?” Not even once she answered with the proper name. I took me 30 minutes to find this office because they didn’t have a sign.
So the whole experience was bogus. I am located in the Las Vegas area so don’t get scammed by this company. All you do is sell coupons, that may or may not be accepted by the so called 500 fortune companies.. for free! Pacific Advertising Group is one of them..”

I was rather shocked to read that it is almost identical to my perfume experience and I almost believe that it is probably the same people behind it.  Sadly I have lost faith in Yahoo.com and am going to be very wary searching for jobs on this site.

2 Comments

  1. Job Search says:

    I am always searching online for articles that can help me. Thank you

  2. Benny says:

    I worked here. I will honestly say there are some sketchy things about it but it is a real legit workplace. You do get paid on the work you do and advancement is possible. The hours and 6 workday weeks are ridiculous, but the company is legit. Only thing is that you don’t sign a 1099 or W2 until you are promoted. If you have a strong desire and good at b2b sales, this is a place to check out. Again, I am a former employee and there are some goods to this place but also there are some bad as well but it is legit. IT’S NOT A SCAM! Just because you don’t put in work or get results doesn’t mean it’s a scam. It means it’s just not for you.

Leave a Reply